January 18: Back to Basics

Instead of buying new clothes, I’ve decided to focus on improving the overall effect of the outfit by sharpening small details. I’ve proudly repeated the outfit above more times than I can count–I actually have this v-neck shirt in two colors, and two of them are now so worn I can only wear them at home.

To polish the overall look, I chose fitted navy pants and went with gold and brown accent pieces. The tribal statement necklace from HnM really pulls the outfit together, and it also repeats the hints of brown and gold from the single star bangle and these tan platform heels.

To define and widen my eyes, I also lined it with simple black eyeliner–this makes a subtle but distinct change to the overall appearance.

Tip: When in doubt, go with something that will give you confidence. A pair of great shoes or a swipe of deep red lipstick always works for me. If you’re unsure about making major permanent changes, then go for smaller fixes like flat-ironing hair to get rid of frizz. This won’t make you look drastically different but will improve your look’s overall effect.

2 thoughts on “January 18: Back to Basics

Leave a Reply

