Rinse, Wear and Repeat with Pride: Blazer to a Party? Challenge Accepted!

I once wrote about how adding a blazer to any daytime dress immediately turns a casual look work-appropriate. It’s one of my favorite no-brainer combinations, especially when I’m in a hurry to go to work in the mornings. Another discovery of mine is how the same blazer can be the key element for a smart look for evening parties and events, especially when you are with officemates or meeting new people for the first time.

On November 16, I attended a party with colleagues and work friends in Tagaytay. Dressing for this event required more care since many bosses (including mine) were in attendance. Here are my personal rules for a foolproof work/party evening: 

  1. Avoid showing too much skin. In this occasion, I’m wearing a gray top (unseen) under my trusty blazer over dark skinny jeans with strappy black heels.
  2. Opt for shimmer or color through accessories to make the look more interesting. This blazer has just enough shine to keep it from weighing down an outfit. A modern cut keeps it from looking too much like officewear. In the photo, my friend Gela is wearing another take on a black blazer, which she brightens up with turquoise earrings, an oversized blue cocktail ring, and a small necklace.
  3. If you forget to pack accessories, use make-up to improve the overall effect. I had forgotten to pack everything prior to this event, so I just swiped on a dark plummy wine lipstick to polish the ensemble. Glowy cheeks and bright eyes, achieved using plain highlighter on the eyelids, complete the look.

More than a week later, I also attended Meg magazine’s Fashion Bloggers’ Night from its Up-and-coming party series, held at Kyss along Makati Avenue. I was excited to meet other bloggers and their readers and wanted to tone down the usual club attire for this occasion. I chose this dusty grape draped dress and threw on this blazer, which covered the dress’ open back. Along with a little chain-link purse, I added large aqua earrings, which showed up well in pictures and stood out against my dark hair. A black and white cow-print bangle brought out the shimmery black in the blazer.

As I knew very few people at this event, I was grateful to Tao, fellow bloggers Chesca from B Ur Own Muse, Joey from Joeward M., Kat from Fashyowndreams, Raissa from MissPopQuiz, and Melissa from SartorialPanda for keeping me company for the evening. The photo is from MissPopQuiz’s tumblr. I’m also grateful to my friend Jay Wee for the invite.

2 thoughts on “Rinse, Wear and Repeat with Pride: Blazer to a Party? Challenge Accepted!

Leave a Reply

