Wear Different Ways: A Blue-tiful Mind

The minute I saw this pale pink polka-dotted dress with a sheer yoke and tulip-shaped skirt on modcloth.com (left) last year, I knew I had to have it.

Unfortunately, “had to have it” really doesn’t mean that my wallet agrees. At around USD67, it was still worth way too much for me to consider. The dress is no longer offered on Modcloth’s catalogue, but I think about this dress all the time. Yes, I really do.

That’s why seeing a very similar blue version of this dress in Plains and Prints (right) one fateful sale weekend was similar to how I imagine Romeo and Juliet would feel if they had met each other again in new bodies post-reincarnation. The baby blue sleeveless dress with a polka-dotted lace overlay is fully lined with a deeper sky blue fabric and also comes in white. You can imagine how I snapped it up!

The dress is dainty, but very versatile. I especially love how the dress reflects both warm (golds, taupes, jewel tones) and cool (pinks, silvers, pastels) tones very vibrantly, making it easy to pair with virtually any accessory. Below are my ideas to wear this dress to four different occasions. In all situations I chose very minimal accessories, as I want the dress itself to do all the talking.

Work. Work requires a sleeker, more covered-up look. I opted to contrast the sweet dress with the sleekness of a simple blazer and these rockstar gladiator heels from Charles and Keith, adding only dangly purple earrings and a black and white bangle. Since it’s important to be taken seriously, I tried to balance out the dress’ cuteness with a harder edge from the extra pieces.

 Casual Friday. Casual Fridays generally means that it’s okay to be a little bit more relaxed with attire. Lots of people come in jeans, but one alternative is to dress in “softer” clothes that don’t necessarily scream “corporate!”. On Fridays I like to wear romantic, flowy dresses and skirts with open-toed sandals, worn by themselves or with more casual cardigans. On this occasion I’m wearing the same dress with gray tights, a matching gray cardigan, and black pumps to anchor the look together. I added a matching black and white bangle to give the look more weight, as well as very large silver hoop earrings and a perky ponytail.

Dinner. When there’s a dinner in honor of a special occasion but doesn’t require you to be too dressed up, one great dress and high heels, like these nude cork platforms from Primadonna, are more than enough. I added tights because I liked how the navy color matches the navy belt with a cute bow. I finished playful look with a multi-textured bronzy gold bracelet and brass Eiffel Tower earrings to match the shoes.

Weekend. Weekends are a lot of fun partly because we can unwind through our outfits. This same blue dress can be worn with a bright pair of shoes, like these punchy raspberry wedges from Charles and Keith. I also added a simple bumblebee pendant to keep the look from being too busy. I see myself wearing this to have coffee with my girlfriends or go bazaar-hopping with my office-mates.

I’ve also featured this dress on one July weekend, and also during a workday in August.

Tip: A versatile dress doesn’t have to mean that it’s in a solid, basic color. Sometimes printed dresses like the one above can also be freshly worn in a variety of ways. If patterned or printed, look for dresses with a simple cut, like a shift dress or wrap dress, that can be worn anywhere.The key is to invest in some wardrobe staples, like plain blazers or cardigans, as well as accessories in both cool and warm tones, to dress the look up or down as needed.

2 thoughts on “Wear Different Ways: A Blue-tiful Mind

  1. Pingback: What to wear to a colleague’s big event | Rinse, Wear, Repeat.

Leave a Reply

