August 3: Happy Days are Here Again

I’m continually amazed by how much my mood is truly affected by the weather. Today was the first sunny day in ages and I immediately felt my mood lift as I opened my eyes and was greeted not with rolling thunder, but with gently bright natural light.

To celebrate, I knew that I wanted to build an outfit around my favorite “happy shoes”, these raspberry wedges from Charles and Keith. I chose this bright berry-purple blouse tucked into a houndstooth tulip skirt, which is lightly pleated near the waist area. It’s also cinched in the waist with a long built-in belt, which I usually tie in a bow at the back. To keep the purple from being too loud and also to match the black in the skirt’s pattern, I added my favorite (and only) satiny black blazer and a complementary black-and-white chunky bangle.

I noticed that there was space for a small necklace, so I added this beautiful angel wing pendant that I bought from Etsy last year. It is handmade by the artist; I am continually amazed at the level of detailing on the wing, its scaling, and how well it handles tarnishing.

For a final pop of color I added small, dangly aqua drop earrings, as I really love the effect of two bright colors playing off each other.

Tank Top: Anne Taylor, a present
Houndstooth skirt: The Landmark
Wedges: Charles and Keith
Blazer: Giordano, Hong Kong
Aqua Earrings: a present from my lovely sister
Pendant: Etsy.com
Bangle: a present

Leave a Reply

