August 2: I Like Dresses and I Like Navy

Having previously belonged to my sister, this beige dress with diagonal stripes composed of tiny blue and gray flowers was pretty much relegated to a spot at the back of the closet until I dusted it off more than a decade later. With its neat, old-fashioned silhouette and Peter Pan collar, it really is more of a summery weekend dress. With some tweaking, though, I find it’s easily wearable to work as well.

The general rule in most modern offices nowadays is that sleeveless clothes are generally acceptable, although the tops of the garment must still cover the greater majority of the shoulder (i.e. no spaghetti straps, etc). Because the dress is already sleeveless, I thought it best to add a pair of almost-opaque tights for extra coverage. The navy color brings out the blue flowers in the dress and also makes the shoes pop, especially the nude ankle straps.

I also added a matching navy cardigan, as I’m very sensitive to frigid office air-conditioning. When buttoned up, the overall look is definitely more preppy, as the cardigan plays off nicely against the Peter Pan collar. When worn unbuttoned, the look is decidedly softer, more relaxed.

I finished with a couple of fun similarly-shaded accessories,. The bronze embellished octopus ring and blue apple earrings add a lighthearted dimension to the serious beiges and navies.

Octopus Ring and Apple Earrings: Yhansy
Tights: a Hong Kong bazaar
Wedges: Primadonna at SM Manila
Dress: Stolen from my Sister
Navy Cardigan: Zara

Leave a Reply

