Cherry Cobbler

A while back I wrote about how I turned an ill-fitting dress to a versatile skirt with the help of a tailor. I quickly withdrew into a pensive mood and ruminated over the implications: what is it that drives us to over-purchase, only to be disappointed when the garment under-delivers?

I’ll be the first to admit that I’ve occasionally fallen prey to the temptations of an impulse buy. After some thought, I’ve come to the conclusion that the culprit behind impulse buying is probably a single-minded fixation on a singular aspect that eclipses all of the garment’s shortcomings. In short: that print on that skirt you’re eyeing is just TOO unique that you HAVE to have it, only to realize later that it’s way too short, the fabric is translucent, and there is no way to return it.

Fortunately, as previously demonstrated, all may not be lost. Below, another example of my folly and my subsequent attempt to redeem the offending garment:

Context: I fell in love with the cheerful cherry print on this red-and-white dress (top left) and bought it on the spot for Php350 in Greenhills tiangge, intending it to be an Easter dress. To my chagrin, I discovered that the dress was so short that wearing it to church would have been asking for excommunication.

Action: The tailor simply sheared off the top half and lowered the waistline, so the skirt is now a respectable inch above the knee.

Result: A new skirt with a charming print that really pops when worn with basics. I like to dress it up with a plain black shirt, simple black pumps, and round out the look with this matching red Buckingham Palace Guards necklace.

Leave a Reply

