Tips and Tricks for Things: Necklace Holder

The best and worst thing about shopping is that we are forever convinced that we need something: “I need the perfect pair of black pumps”, “I’ve really got to stock up on basics again”, “Tim Gunn says I need a trench coat!”. This is great when we’re celebrating a promotion or about to get a raise, but sometimes it’s easy to forget that we’ve probably already got what we need; it’s just lying around at the back of our closets gathering dust. They need to be brought to the surface.

I tried to test this theory on necklaces, my one addiction. I am forever looking for unique pieces to add to my modest collection, always believing that I only have a few (try twenty), wearing only the ones at the top of the pile, the rest lost in the cacophonous cavern of tangled chains, buried under socks and tights, or saved for a special occasion, then promptly misplaced.

Below, my simple two-step plan to curb my necklace-buying addiction and maximize what I already had in my closet

1. Determine your bottleneck.

Bottleneck: according to dictionary.com, “the place or stage in a process in which progress is impeded”. What’s keeping you from using everything you have multiple tmes? What is triggering the “I don’t have this yet, let’s go out and get it!” reflex in  your head?

For me, it was a lack of visibility. Out of sight, out of mind. When you only have five minutes to pick out a necklace at 6:30 in the morning, who would want to choose an accessory out of this mess?

Other bottlenecks you may experience: overdependence on a single type of item (i.e. thirty little black dresses), overabundance of trendy items which are hardly worn/used, stocking up on things that don’t fit your lifestyle (i.e. does your day job really entail wearing a different cocktail dress every day?).

2. Get rid of said bottleneck.

A trip to the hardware store solved this problem for me. I bought an inexpensive set of kitchen hooks, the kind you use to hang large utensils, and stuck them to the back of my closet door. I then hung my necklaces on the hooks for display. The double-sided tape is removable, but sturdy enough to hold some statement necklaces.

It’s almost like I have a little boutique inside my own wardrobe now. Choosing a piece in the morning stops being a chore and is now fun again. Best of all, it only takes a few seconds.

Damage to wallet: Php 75 for sturdy kitchen hooks. Still cheaper than buying real necklace holders, which can cost upwards of Php400 at jewelry stores. Also, consider how much more you would spend if you bought a new necklace every weekend for the next few months.

Tip: For extra reinforcement, get some extra double-sided tape and super-glue the tape to the back of the hook. Then, remove the wrapper and stick that to your closet door. That way, you won’t actually have to get super glue on your nice closet.

 

Leave a Reply

