Rose is in Red

Whenever I spot something worn by a celebrity that I really like, I like to find similar pieces that recreate the look. Sometimes, though, I stumble upon a look very similar to something I already own. This red Christian Cota dress worn by Rose Byrne to a June movie premiere actually caught my eye for that reason.

Rose’s dress is very flattering on her as the deep neckline showcases her graceful collarbone. I love how the dress is demure but still interesting, especially the details on the hemline, making the front of the dress much shorter than the back. The skirt’s shape reminds me of a deconstructed tulip.

My own dress, purchased on sale for around Php800 at The Ramp, is very similar in color and vibe, although it doesn’t have the detail in the hemline. The wrap dress allows me to adjust how the dress hangs on me (whether slightly loose or very fitted). The combination of the modern silhouette and vibrant color is really what makes this my favorite dress for semi-formal events.

Rose paired her dress with a dark clutch; I chose a beige mini-bag with a gold chain strap to bring out the brightness in the garment.

Picture credit: Christian Cota’s website and Jamie Lihan of Image Nation

Leave a Reply

